Projects‎ > ‎



• Comhairle na nÓg directly translates to Council of the Youth

• Originally formed in 2002 by the City and County Development Boards of all 31 city/county councils as part of the National Children’s Strategy

• Recognised as an official entity of the Department of Children and Youth Affairs

• Kildare Comhairle na nÓg represents young people from all around the county and as of present, there are nine local comhairlí across the county

What We Do

We give young people a chance to develop personal and social responsibilities

• We encourage young people to get involved in politics, both on the local and national level (canvassing in elections, questioning their elected officials etc.)

• We recognise young people as a valuable asset in decision making

• We work to better the lives of young people on both the national and local scale

Some Reasons Why Young People Get Involved    

• An Interest in politics

• To voice their opinions on issues that affect them

• To help change their local area


Structure of Comhairle na nÓg

■    Dáil na nÓg (1 Representative from 31 County/City Comhairlí)

■    County Panel (3/4 Representatives from all 8 local comhairlí)

■    Local Comhairlí (8 across the county)

How to Get Involved    

Each year at our Annual General Meeting (AGM), we hope to get more young people to join Comhairle na nÓg. You can go to your local youth project (locations of Kildare Youth Projects provided below) to inquire about joining a local comhairle.

Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Every year, we hold our Annual General Meeting (AGM) where together, we discuss the issues that are of importance to us. Young people aged 12 to 18 come from all over the county, representing youth projects and schools. At our latest AGM on the 18th of October 2017, roughly 170 young people attended. There, we voted to pursue the issue of mental health with a focus of the issue in schools for our 2018 plan.

County Panel Members (2017 - 2019)

Leixlip - Aoife, Liam & Greg

Celbridge - Rosie & Dylan

Clane - Kellie, Clodagh & Aaron

Athy - Evan, Cormac & Jack

Curragh - Darren, Niamh & Rauls

Kildare Town - Leanne, Chloé, Jade & Mark

Newbridge - Cian, Christopher & Mackenzie

Naas - Laoise & Natalia

County Committee (2017 - 2019)

Chair: Kellie

Vice Chair: Rosie

Treasurer: Dylan

Public Relations Officer (PRO): Evan

Vice Public Relations Officer (PRO): Greg

Secretary: Laoise